Crime rates and skin color

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: << · 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ...9 10 11 · >>
ninozara On April 30, 2020

Cheshire, United Kingdom
#61New Post! Apr 23, 2010 @ 16:27:22
@boxerdc Said

Maybe that's part of why it's accepted in our society? Because there's that "I'm going if I get caught, so I might as well go big" mentality?

Perhaps, and like you said in an earlier post, it's culture (or class). If you live in a culture where it's acceptable, then the idea of prison won't be a huge deterrent - everyone goes there.

There was a study in England that said 4.6% of families accounted for 48% of crime, that's almost half of all crime! I can't remember the particulars (It was a couple of years ago that I studied this) but there is that idea of crime 'running in the family'. I think it is probably the idea that if you grow up thinking something is 'normal' you're gonna be more likely to do it.
sarky On March 11, 2011

london, United Kingdom
#62New Post! Apr 23, 2010 @ 22:41:13
The Home Office,s Crime and Justice Survey states that in the Uk 10% of the prison population are Afro Caribean.
Young White and mixed raced males were far more likely to have commited an offence (28%)compared to between 12% and 19% for all other races.
Of 2 million arrested, 16% were black last year, 7% Asian.
Black people are 3 times more likely to be arrested and 6 times more likely to be stopped and searched by the police even if they have not committed a crime.

They are less likely to be given bail or let off with a caution and they are more likely to recieve higher sentences.

Young black males especially are under represented by the police.

These stastistics show that racism is highly prevalant in the British justice system and must be stamped out.

People seem to miss many of the positve influences many Black people have bought to our country.