Time, Place and intelligence

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: << · 1 2
Erimitus On July 01, 2021

The mind of God, Antarctica
#16New Post! Aug 26, 2011 @ 15:25:14
@dylangreen Said

well to be honest my partner and i had a conversation about time - he is very much of the belief that time is a human concept so it doesnt matter and isnt real - i agreed with him but added the point that although it was created, society has adapted to function around the concept of time (i.e. normal working hours etc.) making it an important part of life in society (obviously excusing those who live in aboribinal tribes etc.). time is a different concept there a more natural one that i think my partner is probably refering to as 'the better option' (life without time) - i have little knowledge on the matter but i would imagine that night and day and the four seasons are of the only real importance to them.

as for intellegence - it is all down to opinion - there obviously is a definition because it is a word that is recognised but in my opinion intellgence is what differs humans from animal (apart from thumbs etc. lol) - our abilty to us experience to make informed decisions, our abilty to seek knowledge when it is needed, problem solving skills, there are many others

some might say that social skills are a part of intellegence - or having a broad range of knowledge - or detailed knowledge in a specific area - all of these could be classed as the basis for an intellegent person

another view could be that lack of stupidity is all intellegence is - a measure of how big your mistakes are and if you learn from them in the long run

not sure if that helps

- dylan

Respons to dylangreen post #13

Note) I paraphrase not to change your meaning but to determine if I Understand it.

TIME:

Partner: (quote) Time is a human concept so it doesn’t matter and isn’t real.

E: (Paraphrase) Time is a concept.