Forums:
Music

Music or music trends?

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
backseatcynic On January 19, 2010

Henryetta, Oklahoma
#1New Post! Sep 06, 2008 @ 02:03:57
As a musician, I have a deep appreciation for music. I listen to and study the instrumentation, the degree of talent with which it's played, originality, production value, sound quality, and certainly not least, enjoyability. Giving attention to all those things one might wonder if I'm taking all the fun out of it. Quite to the contrary, I am not. I nut (figuratively speaking of course) on music that displays an artist's(s') gift of talent. When you know how hard it is to make a song of any kind work (by yourself or with others) to see that as an achievement played out on disc (or digital these days) you can't put a price on that. And that's just the music.

But there's lyrics, too! Country music fans live and die by them, and the poetry sung by a passionate lyricist in any genre just grabs on to me on the inside and holds on tight. I've got songs that I don't give a rat's a** for the music, but I can recite every word.

So showing my a** like this brings me to why I'm creating this thread in the first place. I know that not everybody is or wants to be as passionate about music as I am or those like me. But what I don't understand is those of you that just follow music trends. It seems to me you think of music as an easily consumed and disposable commodity. Perhaps that sounds harsh, but I'm trying really hard to make sure I say what I say without sounding like I'm sticking my nose up in the air at you. But I shudder when a piece of music is reduced to a ringtone. To each his own, and I don't judge. I just don't understand. There's so much to music, and there's so much of it. It's unfortunate the best music is never heard. So it's that I sum up by saying that those of you that generally follow just the trends, to some degree or another you know you're missing out on a lot. You just don't seem to care. Why?