Forums: Business & Money:
Jobs & Careers

What's with this "pay your dues" crap?

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
ultranewbie On December 31, 2012

el dorado, New Mexico
#1New Post! Sep 22, 2008 @ 04:00:14
i work in the medical field, specializing in ultrasound. When i was interning, we were told before making our clinical rotations that "remember, you are a student"...

When i started interning, i was taken aback at how some of us were being treated by those who were either senior, or had graduated. They were rude, we weren't asked to do an exam, we were ordered to do so. This, i didn't mind, but sometimes, some of the workers would just have "home problems", and take them out of us - by yelling at us, or demeaning many of us, in front of patients..

When i talked to my clinical instructor about this behavior, she said "You have to pay your dues"..

okay, 1 year later, post grad, board certified, etc..i have a new job, but i'm the "New Kid on the Block"..so to speak..and here we go again!! I'm now the Outsider, not included in the group functions, only spoken to "if necessary", and because i don't want children - there's another strike against me, (it's mostly women, and they relate mainly through their children), ridiculed by the group if a mistake is made..they love to criticize/complain about anyone's work, as if they're the best, and anything that i might say, is taken back to the group and analyzed..i call it "tribal counsel"..

i mentioned this silliness to my new boss, and because he's part of the clique, he basically said: "you have to earn your way into the group. since you're new, they have to get used to you, blah blah.."