UK Government taking action against Legal Highs

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: << · 1 2 3 · >>
sister_of_mercy On March 11, 2015

London, United Kingdom
#16New Post! Mar 29, 2010 @ 21:55:18
@SparklyKatie Said

They should have a seperate classification for stuff like this to guage how harmful (or not) it is, banning it outright just pushes it underground.

As for the deaths, yeah they were 'linked to Mephedrone but the two lads that died had been drinking lots of vodka and had taken Methadone (the Heroin substitute) too. I'm no doctor but I'd bet the vodka and Methadone had more to do with their deaths than the Mephadrone.

Also banning it will only serve to bring more 'legal highs' into the forefront.

https://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Chinese-Chemical-Factories-Are-Planning-To-Outsmart-UK-Authorities-If-Mephedrone-Is-Banned/Article/201003415586448?f=rss

It's a never ending battle where banning something doesn't work. IMO.

Yeah I think as soon as the media jumped onto the story of the lads' deaths the Government were almost forced to do something about it. I agree that there was probably a bit more to their deaths than just the Mcat, but I can see why the Government would be worried about its long term effects, simply because we don't know what they are as of yet.
SparklyKatie On March 07, 2014
\m//O_O\\m/

Sheffield, United Kingdom
#17New Post! Mar 29, 2010 @ 21:55:42
@El_Tino Said

People get addicted to it, that doesn't mean it gets them high.

Large enough doses can get you high.
El_Tino On October 12, 2023
booyaka!

Albuquerque, New Mexico
#18New Post! Mar 29, 2010 @ 21:56:57
@SparklyKatie Said

Large enough doses can get you high.

Well seems odd then that they would prescribe it at "higher doses" to "block the euphoric effects of heroine".

London, United Kingdom
#19New Post! Mar 29, 2010 @ 21:57:07
@ThePainefulTruth Said