College Life

Side-effects of state education

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: 1 2 3 · >>
Conflict On April 22, 2024

Alcalá de Henares, Spain
#1New Post! Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:27:13
Since I was sixteen, I had a state education. I could no longer afford a private one. I followed the public system and for all intents and purposes, I felt like I was on the right path. I did well for myself but then, when it came to university, I developed a personality that didn't suit me. I became driven by my gut, fueled by my heart's desires and I studied subjects that were not mainstream. I ended up falling short of reaching my goal.

Five years later, I now realize that the state education system made me act more on feeling that thought and I regret my actions very much. When I think of the students at London Metropolitan, I see people very hungry for knowledge and drive by their utmost passions to do what they wanted to. They didn't put a great deal of thought into their actions, they were all heart most of them had a very high tendency to go where the money was and where they could grab as much as they could for themselves.

I imagine because many of them had parents who left school early, or lived in low income households, as a result, or for other reasons, they wanted to do better for themselves. This is a noble ideal, I must admit, but the grasping, the need to hit the hardest with their minds and soar to the mountain peak is not something I was cut out for.
The_Judge On September 17, 2013

Deleted

Your city, United Kingdom
#2New Post! Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:41:02
Some people are born to succeed some are obviously born to fail.
GreenAppleKing On April 23, 2015

Deleted

, United States (general)
#3New Post! Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:50:03
@The_Judge Said

Some people are born to succeed some are obviously born to fail.

Ayn Rand wrote of this.
someone_else_again On May 20, 2021
Really. Not a dude.

, Washington
#4New Post! Aug 23, 2013 @ 19:39:40
@Conflict Said