Forums: Relationships:
Family

Relationship with my dad...

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
iEaTcRaYoNs On August 30, 2009

Jefferson City, Missouri
#1New Post! Jun 09, 2009 @ 04:08:45
Okay, I didn't know where to put this topic at, so I decided this category...

My dad and I have never had a 'great' relationship. He's actually been a jerk my whole life. Not to just me, but to everyone EXCEPT for my oldest brother. Growing up with my dad he'd always yell at my mom and I. My mom would get yelled at even more if she stuck up for me. When I was in high school he told me on numerous times that I'd never make it anywhere in life. My mom even told me he told her that when I graduated he'd have my stuff packed and on the front pourch when I got home. Luckily he found another job in another city, so he moved out. There will be days when he'll be really nice and act like nothing ever happened, but it's hard for me to get past it. I now take things out on my boyfriend. I went to a therapist and I spilled everything out to her about my dad. I then went on to tell her about how I get angry at my boyfriend for reasons I don't even know. She told me she believed it was because without me knowing it the little things my boyfriend does reminds me of my dad. Things such as when my boyfriend joked 'It's my car, I'll listen to MY music.' I blew up on him. My dad is getting old and I know 19 years is a long time to be lost, but I kinda want to mend our relationship. For once I'd love to be called 'daddy's girl', but I have a feeling it's too late. I know it hurts my mom when my dad and I fight, but I can't stand being put down any more.

Now my question is...

What should I do? Should I try to mend the relationship before it's too late? If so, how? I've tried talking to him, I've even wrote an essay about it, but when he read it he got really mad and started yelling. Saying things such as 'I am not like that! I do treat her fairly'

Please help.
tardcore On May 24, 2010

Deleted