Sociology

Nostalgia

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
amirali_hatef On September 10, 2011

Tehran, Iran
#1New Post! Jul 28, 2011 @ 21:12:29
Hello everyone
I'm an artist and i'm researching about nostalgia so i can paint about it. and i would use any information you guys give me. so i'm gonna start with these question.
1. what are the causes that make some generations of people having nostalgia experience? and are the causes mostly connected with the past or present?
2.does it have anything to do with searching for identity or meaning? and if it has, what causes not having identity or meaning in a group of people with almost same ages?
any other information is welcome to.
thanks
treebee On April 13, 2015
Government Hooker

London, United Kingdom
#2New Post! Jul 28, 2011 @ 21:16:53
I honestly think we are nostalgic for happiness. We go through times where maybe we have no responsibility or we just fell in love or we just started a family and although tough at the time we tend to look back and only see the good things.

I think for some people it does have to do with identity or meaning but for the majority it is not. Some people just get into an era with the fashion, music or whatever and stay there. Some people move on but have a yearning to go back.

Nostalgia is actually harmful sometimes.

Tehran, Iran
#3New Post! Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:37:02
well sometimes it's about happiness of the past. but i guess most of the times it's not.
i'm living in Iran and my country started a war with iraq in 1980 for 8 years. and all the people are nostalgic for that time but the war time was not a happy time.
I read in a psychological book that nostalgia causes by intrapersonal, social and environmental stimuli and a minimal comparison of past with present.
what i mostly need to know are those social and environmental stimuli
Electric_Banana On February 05, 2024

, New Zealand
#4New Post! Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:45:37