The Forum Site - Join the conversation
Forums:
Society & Lifestyles

Do you put money into the cashier's hand or onto the counter?

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: 1 2 3 ...11 12 13 · >>
Please be honest!
I put it in their hand
I put it on the counter
I honestly don't pay attention, so I'm not really sure.
View Results
Kristy69 On September 14, 2014
Carly's Mommy

Underneath the Cyanide Sun....
#1New Post! Oct 26, 2011 @ 12:01:05
So I work in retail and I have a LOT of people just put the money on the counter (even when I have my hand waiting). And yes, it does pluck my nerves a bit (more so when you've ignored my "Hello, how are you today? Will this be all?" ).

I find it's mostly older people (in their 40s - 60s), younger people (like closer to my age) will put it in my hand.

I really don't understand why people do it, so those of you who do, help me understand it better, please.
Is it a sanitary thing? Or did you just see your parents do it that way?

This is your local convenience store clerk saying; "Be kind, my hand is open. Thanks."
Carly's Mommy

#2New Post! Oct 26, 2011 @ 12:06:04
I work in a very wealthy area. A lot of the people who come in are pulling into the parking lot in BMW's, Hummers and Porches. I feel like it's a "Oh, you're a lowly peasant cashier who has poor people germs."

I try not to let it get to me, but when you blatantly ignore my outstretched hand to put the money on the counter, what am I supposed to think? Sometimes when I know you're about to throw that other dollar on the counter I just take it from you.

On another note, you wouldn't BELIEVE how many people speak to me like I'm retarded. Okay, just because I work at a 7-Eleven doesn't mean I'm dumb. Please don't speak to me like I'm 6.
plebian_angel On April 25, 2012
Intergalactic hussy

a great future,
#3New Post! Oct 26, 2011 @ 12:06:37