Politics

Designated "Free Speech" Areas

Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: 1 2 · >>
mrmexico25 On November 19, 2019

Dallas, Texas
#1New Post! Nov 30, 2009 @ 01:43:43
I was a student at a community college and there was a designated free speech area. It's under a gazebo with a diameter of about 10 feet. I've seen these at several other universities and couldn't help wonder, "since when did this country need a 'designated' area from free speech"? Does this area imply that it's the only place where students can protest? Is this the only area on campus where students of this nation can express themselves?

How hypocritical is this coming from public universities in the United States, the country that is "The Land of the Free"?

Sometimes I wonder...
boxerdc On December 18, 2012

Deleted

#2New Post! Nov 30, 2009 @ 01:47:11
Colleges are not public property. Not even colleges that are run by the state.

If you want free speech in a public forum, you'll find that nearly every single town and city in America has a "green" or a "commons" or a "mall" near their center of government which has been designed to allow citizens to assemble and speak freely.

There's a fine line between free speech and anarchy.
GeneticAnomaly On May 25, 2020
Marvellous, simply m

, United Kingdom
#3New Post! Nov 30, 2009 @ 01:49:12
Free speech does not mean 'protest speech' .

Dallas, Texas
#4New Post! Nov 30, 2009 @ 01:52:52
Which seems to be an other problem. If tuition and taxes pay for them, we damn well should be allowed to say what we want wherever we want.

Anarchy isn't the issue. If one wanted to protest anything at all, there are rights that are granted that he/she can do it ANYWHERE as long as its peaceful.

Dallas, Texas
#5New Post! Nov 30, 2009 @ 01:56:52
Quote:
Free speech does not mean 'protest speech' .