Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: << · 1 2 3
Electric_Banana On February 05, 2024

, New Zealand
#31New Post! Feb 20, 2014 @ 22:39:51
@DuLu Said

one upsmanship so to speak.

Yes. The sparring serves to develop often times however.

@DuLu Said

Reference not being able to 'change' a person, only influence them?

it's your job to CHANGE the person's mind from no to yes.

No, that is disrespectful of others' autonomy.

They will note this subliminally and be offended.

It is better to catch the sale the second time around after they have learned to trust you after your first polite attempt.

I am a salesman who does not know exactly what is right for my potential client other than old fashioned respect when addressing a stranger.

@DuLu Said

I know it is more PC to use the word 'influence' vice 'change' others ---- but, pretty much, if you're good at what you do or being who you are ---------- what you did or said (and how you did it or how your said it) ===== it changed the outcome of the interaction
[favorably 'as in' the loser matching/mirroring/choosing your
spoken/unspoken message.

Diplomacy - A lot of it is how we word ourselves. Linguistics.
Sometimes insights can be expressed in a friendly manner but only articulated in a way that comes off as arrogant or patronizing.

Good diplomats know the kind of humble man they would be comfortable listening too and then pretend to be that humble man when holding audience.
someone_else_again On May 20, 2021
Really. Not a dude.

, Washington
#32New Post! Feb 20, 2014 @ 22:46:41
@Electric_Banana Said

"What we most want from the person we are talking to is for them to see things from our perspective and agree."

Is a bit too vague.

I would paraphrase:

"What we most want from the person we are talking to is for them to see things from our perspective and compromise or at least stop and think a bit further."

The former just wants their ego petted.

The latter wants to make a difference.