incognito On February 26, 2010
Giddy In The Pants

Deleted

, Canada
#1New Post! May 18, 2009 @ 03:31:03
A happy ending to a horrible situation.

https://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/30785200?GT1=43001
updated 2:18 p.m. ET, Sun., May 17, 2009
LOS ANGELES, Calif. - The 3-year-old California boy abducted almost two weeks ago by gunmen who tied up his family is back at his home following his rescue in Mexico and a hospital checkup.

Officials in San Bernardino say Briant Rodriguez is fatigued but otherwise in good physical condition.

The boy was released from a San Bernardino hospital Sunday after being kept overnight for observation.

Briant was given physical and emotional evaluations at the local hospital after being returned from the Mexican border town of Mexicali, where he was found wandering the streets Thursday.

The boy was kidnapped by two armed men who snatched him from his house after robbing and tying up other members of his family.

"I've been doing this for 30 years. I'm not saying it doesn't happen ... but the odds of finding him safe and alive ? the odds of finding him alive ? went down every day," San Bernardino County Sheriff Rod Hoops said. "Our detectives never gave up."

Briant and his mother, Maria Rosalina Millan, were reunited earlier Saturday in Calexico, Calif., a day after detectives and FBI agents received a call from officials in the neighboring Mexican city of Mexicali saying they found a boy that could be Briant, sheriff's Lt. Rick Ells said.

Officer finds the boy
Ells said a municipal police officer in Mexicali found the boy wandering the streets by himself late Thursday.

The officer initially thought the child was from the neighborhood and took him to several houses seeking his family before leaving him in child protective custody, Ells said.

Mexican authorities did not realize who the child was and didn't notify U.S. authorities until Friday afternoon, he said.