Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: << · 1 2 3 ...5 6 7 8 · >>
chisa96 On December 29, 2014
Supreme Goddess

Out in Nature, Wisconsin
#91New Post! Jan 24, 2011 @ 03:41:44
@ReAdSaLoT Said

This is where professional intervention needs to come in. As hard as it is, you have to give them a hot line number ...

Call an ambulance, never try to handle them on your own. As I said in my post, people who need this much attention, are seriously, mentally ill.

Sorry, I can't help my argumentative side, and this actually ties back even more directly the title of the thread, and it is most definately something people should keep in the back of their minds should they actually be faced with having to convince somebody of this nature to get help.

So, respectfully, I must slightly disagree with some points here, at least in the reguard as this being blanket advice applicable to all situations.

As a psychologist, I'm sure you know how complicated it can be to address the subject of getting serious help to someone who is deeply disturbed and is also adamently against the whole idea of getting professional help. Why, to send an ambulance and sirens directly to their door has an incredibly high risk of triggering an impulsive and dangerous reaction; even should the approach be without the lights and sirens they will have to announce their presence at some point, a point that could prove to be impulsively fatal to the person. To even broach the subject of getting real help carries a high risk of backfiring and has to be handled incredibly delicately. When dealing with such people, you cannot simply hand them a phone number and expect anything to come of it, and sending sirens to their door could very easily equal them being dead before those professionals even have the chance to knock, let alone help.