Post in Forums
Create a Profile
Upload Pictures
Keep a Journal
Meet Friends
It's FREE!
Sign Up!
Forum Index > Computers & Internet > Online Scams
>> Ebay..is this fake?
Reply to Topic
Search Topic
Subscription
Author Message
Pages: 1 2 3 · >>
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:29:10#1
PerfectDreamX

Points Whore Master
69180 points


Send PM


22/F/, New York
Join Date: Sep 2005

I just got this email in my mail..I never used ebay in my life and this is a new emai address that I just made for MSN..is this fake?


Dear eBay Member


For the User Agreement, Section
9, we may immediately issue a warning, temporarily suspend, indefinitely
suspend or terminate your membership and refuse to provide our
services to you if we believe that your actions may cause financial
loss or legal liability for you, our users or us. We may also
take these actions if we are unable to verify or authenticate
any information you provide to us.


We regret to inform you that your eBay account could be suspended
if you don't re-update your account information. To resolve this
problems please use the link below and re-enter your account information.
If your problems could not be resolved your account will be suspended
for a period of 24 hours, after this period your account will
be terminated.


Due to the suspension of this account, please be advised you are
prohibited from using eBay in any way. This includes the registering
of a new account. Please note that this suspension does not relieve
you of your agreed-upon obligation to pay any fees you may owe
to eBay.


To update your record please click here:


PerfectDreamX last visited October 13, 2008
Edited: November 24, 2005 @ 19:29
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:30:07#2
rob

Debater
6675 points


Send PM


18/M/Warrington, United Kingdom
Join Date: Jul 2005

WTF!

rob last visited August 28, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:31:48#3
stew

Ogler
20803 points


Send PM


21/M/Falkirk, United Kingdom
Join Date: Jan 2005

well if u never used em they cant chase up any fees if they dont have ure account details so dont wrory bout it! lol


Jf is God!!

stew last visited September 10, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:32:59#4
PerfectDreamX

Points Whore Master
69180 points


Send PM


22/F/, New York
Join Date: Sep 2005

lol..true..it was just weird ..hmm o well! thanks buddy!


PerfectDreamX last visited October 13, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:33:01#5
treebee
UM - BONGO
Über-Administrator
160181 points


Send PM


38/F/Escaped!!!, United Kingdom
Join Date: Oct 2005

Yeah ignore it!!! Sounds dodgy to me!

I HATE e-bay anyway!


link [www.thebreastcancersite.com] Please click to save a life
Teresa is a doll that should be purchased for regular playtime - Googlism

treebee last visited October 13, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:34:52#6
stew

Ogler
20803 points


Send PM


21/M/Falkirk, United Kingdom
Join Date: Jan 2005

unspokenwords said:
lol..true..it was just weird ..hmm o well! thanks buddy!


no problemo my hard rockin amego! lol


Jf is God!!
stew last visited September 10, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:36:17#7
bandylank

Über Master Debater
8426 points

Deleted

Send PM


24/M/, United Kingdom
Join Date: Jul 2005

Could be a scam, people trying to get your details (they wont know if you have an ebay account or not) so they can buy stuff with your money.

bandylank last visited June 22, 2006
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 19:37:53#8
PerfectDreamX

Points Whore Master
69180 points


Send PM


22/F/, New York
Join Date: Sep 2005

true..I was thinking that..because it says too update your info and there was a link too click..but it looked like it was from ebay..but I guess it doesn't matter if I never went on there! Thanks all!!


PerfectDreamX last visited October 13, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 20:10:21#9
sweetrnsugar77

Ogler
26829 points


Send PM


31/F/My Apartment, Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2005

If youve never used it I would stay away. Someone is trying to get you to update your info into a system that they can read. Probably not even associated with Ebay. Careful, that crap happens to be once in a while too.


sweetrnsugar77 last visited October 09, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 20:31:42#10
looie131

Über-Meister
1536 points


Send PM


22/M/Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Join Date: Sep 2005

Its fake, eBay will always use your real name or your eBay ID when emailing you.


Sweet sweet myspace stuff.
ContactsforMyspace

looie131 last visited August 01, 2008
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 20:58:00#11
Lili

Monk
35588 points


Send PM


26/F/Sunshine Land, California
Join Date: Apr 2005

Yeah, Ebay always uses your ebay username in the email, they NEVER just say "dear Ebay member". They specifically mention that in their privacy policy on the ebay website. Also in their privacy policy, Ebay states specifically that they never ask for account information from you in an email. It's totaly a phishing scam. Delete immediately!


Lili is online! (Last active within 1 minutes)
New Post! Nov 24, 2005 @ 21:04:19#12
Lili

Monk
35588 points


Send PM


26/F/Sunshine Land, California
Join Date: Apr 2005

Here's what ebay's website says about it:

link [pages.ebay.com]


Lili is online! (Last active within 1 minutes)
New Post! Nov 25, 2005 @ 02:16:58#13
PerfectDreamX

Points Whore Master
69180 points


Send PM


22/F/, New York
Join Date: Sep 2005

Thank you..hmm wonder where the fake email came from ..I just made the address..maybe someone on here got my email and sent me spam? ehh I dunno...thanks all..your great!!


PerfectDreamX last visited October 13, 2008
New Post! Nov 25, 2005 @ 02:19:14#14
reiko

Infidel
0 points

Deleted

Send PM


24/F/New York, New York
Join Date: Oct 2005

unspokenwords said:
Thank you..hmm wonder where the fake email came from ..I just made the address..maybe someone on here got my email and sent me spam? ehh I dunno...thanks all..your great!!


That ebay scam has been going around for a long time. Just delete it.
reiko last visited March 27, 2006
New Post! Nov 25, 2005 @ 02:21:15#15
justvr

Minister
13032 points


Send PM


107/M/, Wallis and Futuna
Join Date: Oct 2005

unspokenwords said:
I just got this email in my mail..I never used ebay in my life and
this is a new emai address that I just made for MSN..is this fake?


Dear eBay Member


For the User Agreement, Section
9, we may immediately issue a warning, temporarily suspend, indefinitely
suspend or terminate your membership and refuse to provide our
services to you if we believe that your actions may cause financial
loss or legal liability for you, our users or us. We may also
take these actions if we are unable to verify or authenticate
any information you provide to us.


We regret to inform you that your eBay account could be suspended
if you don't re-update your account information. To resolve this
problems please use the link below and re-enter your account information.
If your problems could not be resolved your account will be suspended
for a period of 24 hours, after this period your account will
be terminated.


Due to the suspension of this account, please be advised you are
prohibited from using eBay in any way. This includes the registering
of a new account. Please note that this suspension does not relieve
you of your agreed-upon obligation to pay any fees you may owe
to eBay.


To update your record please click here:


IT LOOKS FAKE to me. I would not respond to it directly. Instead, get on ebays site and
look up their contact information and send them an email attaching it, and ask if it is
genuine. If its not, they will want to know that someone is skimming member contact
infomation.....

I recommend you do it NOW.....

justvr last visited February 20, 2006
Reply to Topic<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>
Pages: 1 2 3 · >>

Top

TFS Time: Mon 13 Oct 2008 05:06 pm CDT
Copyright © 2004-2008 Funky Llama Productions, LLC   |   Home   |   Contact   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of service
Proudly hosted by Liquid Web

 
The Forum Site - Your premier source for everything